Operating a Scooter or Motorcycle in Miami Beach

Scooter and Motorcycle Laws in Florida

Scooters and motorcycles are a great way to get around in South Beach. They are also a popular form of transportation for visitors staying in South Beach accommodations as well as residents of Miami Beach. They are less expensive than a car, easier to park and available to younger drivers as long as they meet the required scooter and motorcycle laws in Florida.

Scooters in Miami Beach can be rented for as little as $35 a day and motorcycle rentals in South Beach start at $100 a day. There are several places on the beach that rent both scooters and motorcycles. Some will even deliver directly to your South Beach accommodations. It is important that vacationers and residents understand the scooter and motorcycle laws in Florida before renting.
 
Scooters Laws in Florida
A motorcycle endorsement or license is not necessary to operate a scooter (less than 50cc) in Florida but you must have a regular Class E driver license. Scooter owners still need to register with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

  • You must be at least 16 years old.
  • Passengers younger than 16 are required to wear a helmet.


Motorcycle Laws in Florida
You must have a motorcycle endorsement (license) on your regular license or motorcycle-only license to operate any two or three wheeled motorbike with an engine of 50 cc or more. The endorsement fee is $7.

  • You must be at least 16 years old.
  • You must have at least a regular Class E driver license.
  • You must complete the Basic Rider Course, regardless of age.

To apply, you'll need to complete a written exam with multiple-choice questions about basic road safety and motorcycle laws. You'll also have to undergo a driving test on your motorcycle, as well as a vision and hearing test.