Drunk driving in Florida

Miami Beach lodging: Don't Drink and Drive



Drunk driving in FloridaEach year hundreds of thousands of people book their Miami Beach lodging and head to South Beach. Whether they are coming to Miami Beach for summer vacation, spring break or party with friends, a majority of these vacationers will be drinking. It’s extremely important to know a few things about Florida driving laws specifically the laws on drunk driving in Florida. Because Florida has a Zero Tolerance Law it is particularly important for drivers under 21 to know the penalties associated with drunk driving in Florida.

There are plenty of alternatives to driving for vacationers that don’t want to worry about DUI’s when they are clubbing in South Beach. Most of the nightclubs, restaurants, and other hotspots you can walk to from Miami Beach lodging. There is also the the .25 cents Local Bus and for usually less than $10 you can catch a cab. Read the following laws for drunk driving in Florida and you will see that a $10 cab ride is a small price to pay to avoid the fines and punishment associated with driving drunk in Miami Beach.


Drunk Driving in Florida- Zero Tolerance Law:
The Zero Tolerance Law means if you are under 21 and get caught drunk driving in Florida with a breath or blood alcohol level of .02 or higher you will automatically have your license suspended for 6 months. This means you cannot have even one drink and get behind the wheel! If you have a breath or blood alcohol level of .08 or higher you can be charged for driving under the influence (DUI). If you refuse to take a test, your license is automatically suspended for one year.

If you are arrested in Miami Beach for a DUI you stay in jail until you are sober, pay a fine of at least $250, and your car is impounded for at least 10 days. And that’s just the beginning.


Penalties for Drunk Driving in Florida:

 


First Conviction
Fine-$500-$1,000, with BAL .15+ or minor, min $1,000 to $2,000
Community Service-50 hours
Probation-Not more than 1 year
Imprisonment-Not more than 6 months; with BAL .15+ or minor in vehicle, minimal 9 months
License Revocation-Minimum 180 days
DUI School-12 hours DUI School Requirement to determine need for treatment
Ignition Interlock Device-Up to 6 continuous months

Second Conviction
Fine-$1,000-$2,000 with BAL .15+ or minor in vehicle, minimal $2,000 to $4,000
Imprisonment-Max 9 months; 2nd conviction within 5 years, 10 days in jail, 48 hours confinement
License Revocation-Minimum 180 days; 2nd offense within 5 years; 5 year revocation
DUI School-21 hours DUI School to determine need for treatment
Ignition Interlock Device-Minimum of 1 year

Third Conviction
Fine-$2,000-$5,000 with BAL .15+ or minor in vehicle, minimal $4,000
Imprisonment-Minimal 12 months; 3rd conviction within 10 years, 30 days in jail; 48 hours confinement
License Revocation-Minimum 180 days; 3rd offense within 10 years; 10 year revocation
DUI School-21 hours DUI School to determine need for treatment
Ignition Interlock Device-Minimum of 2 years